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23 VAC 10-140-20. Requirement of withholding.  

Every employer making payment of wages is required to deduct and withhold with 

respect to the wages of each employee for each payroll period the following amount 

(and on the assumption that an equal amount will be collected for each similar payroll 

period with respect to a similar amount of wages for each payroll period during an entire 

calendar year): An amount approximately equal to the Virginia income tax liability of 

such employee after allowing for the personal exemptions and standard deduction to 

which such employee could be entitled on the basis of his status during such payroll 

period and after allowing for any credit available to the employee as provided by §58.1-

332 of the Code of Virginia, but without allowing for any other deductions. In 

determining the amount to be deducted and withheld under these regulations, the 

employer is permitted to compute wages to the nearest dollar.  

An employer shall not be required to deduct any amount upon a payment of wages to 

an employee if there is in effect with respect to such payment a withholding exemption 

certificate, in such form and containing such other information as the Commissioner 

may prescribe (currently Form VA-4a), furnished by the employee to the employer, 

certifying that the employee: (i) incurred no liability for Virginia income tax for his 

preceding taxable year; and (ii) anticipates that he will incur no liability for Virginia 

income tax for his current taxable year.  
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23 VAC 10-140-30. Withholding tables.  

The amount of tax to be withheld for each individual shall be based upon tables 

prepared and distributed by the Commissioner.  

Example: Employer A pays his employees every month. Employee Z, who is single and 

claimed one personal exemption on Form VA-4 filed with Employer A, earns an annual 

gross salary of $12,000, payable $1,000 per month. From each of Employee Z's 

monthly paychecks Employer A withholds Virginia income tax of $34.90, based on the 

monthly withholding table contained in the Employer Income Tax Withholding 

Instructions issued by the Department of Taxation.  
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23 VAC 10-140-80. Failure of employer to withhold tax; payment by recipient of wages.  

If an employer fails to deduct and withhold the tax under this chapter, and thereafter the 

income tax against which the withholding tax may be credited is paid, the employer will 

not be liable for the withholding tax. However, despite such payment of the withholding 

tax, the employer will still be liable for any penalties or additions to the tax otherwise 

applicable to the employer's failure to deduct and withhold.  
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23 VAC 10-140-90. Failure of employer to pay over tax withheld.  

If any employer deducts and withholds taxes from the compensation of an employee but 

fails to pay over the money so deducted and withheld to Virginia, such employee shall 

not be held liable for the payment of such taxes but shall be entitled to a credit for the 

moneys so deducted and withheld as if the same had been paid over by the employer 

as required by law. The burden of proving that such an employer deducted and lawfully 

withheld Virginia income tax shall rest upon the employee.  
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23 VAC 10-140-120. [Reserved]  
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23 VAC 10-140-140. Jeopardy assessments.  

If the Commissioner has reason to believe that the collection of moneys, required to be 

withheld by the employer, is in jeopardy, he may require the employer to make such 

return and pay to the Commissioner such amounts required to be withheld at any time 

the Commissioner may designate therefor after the time when such amounts should 

have been deducted from wages and withheld.  
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23 VAC 10-140-150. Liability of employer for failure to withhold.  

An employer shall be personally and individually liable for sums required to be withheld 

and paid to the Commissioner which the employer fails to withhold or pay. Any sum or 

sums withheld in accordance with the provisions of these regulations shall be deemed 

to be held in trust for the Commonwealth.  
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23 VAC 10-140-160. Penalty for failure to withhold.  

A. Any employer required under the provisions of this chapter to deduct and withhold 

from wages and make returns and payments of amounts withheld to the Commissioner, 

who fails to withhold such amounts, or to make such returns, or who fails to remit 

amounts collected to the Commissioner, or otherwise fails to remit to the Commissioner 

as required by these regulations, shall be subject to a penalty equal to 5% of the 

amount that should have been properly withheld and paid over to the Commissioner for 

each month or fraction thereof, until paid, not to exceed 25%. In no case shall the 

penalty be less than $10, even if no tax is due for the period for which the filing of such 

return was required.  

Interest at a rate determined in accordance with §58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

accrue on the tax until paid, or until an assessment is made, after which interest shall 

accrue as provided in §58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia. Such penalty and interest shall 

be assessed by the Commissioner and shall be collected by him in the same manner as 

the collection of taxes may be enforced under Title 58.1, Code of Virginia.  

Example: Employer W is a monthly filer and has a liability of $300 for the monthly period 

ending January 31, and $0 for the monthly period ending February 28. He files no 

returns until April 6. At that time he is liable for penalty and interest (assume an annual 

interest rate of 12%) as follows:  

Monthly period ending January 31                      

  (return due February 20; return filed               
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  April 6)--$300 liability                                                                            

   

Penalty--deemed to be 2 months late,                

  at 5% per month             10% x $300 =  $30.00    

  Interest--over a 45-day period between              

  February 20 and April 6    1.5% x $300 =  $ 4.50    

                                            ------    

                                            $34.50    

Monthly period ending February 28                     

  (return due March 20; return filed                  

   April 6)--$0 liability                             

                                              

  Penalty--deemed to be 1 month late                  

  at 5% per month, but 5% x $0 = $0,                  

  so $10 minimum penalty applies            $10.00    

  Interest--applied against $0 liability      0.00    

                                            ------    

                                            $10.00    

                                            ------    

                                            ------    

    Total as of April 6:                    $44.50    
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B. Upon failure of any employer to pay over any amounts withheld or required to be 

withheld by the employer under this chapter, the Commissioner may make assessments 

and enforce the collection of such amounts, including penalties, by any legal process 

provided for the enforcement of the collection of taxes under Title 58.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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23 VAC 10-140-170. Continuation of employer liability until notice.  

Once an employer has become liable to file a return of withholding, he must continue to 

file a return even though no tax has been withheld, until such time as he notifies the 

Commissioner, in writing, that he no longer has employees or that he is no longer 

required to file such returns. If an employer requests in writing that he be permitted to 

change from one filing status to another on the ground that his withholding liability has 

changed in dollar amount to the requirements of a different filing status, such change 

shall be permitted only at the beginning of a calendar year which is after the calendar 

year during which the request was made.  
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23 VAC 10-140-180. Extensions.  

The Commissioner may grant an employer a reasonable extension of time for filing any 

return under this chapter whenever in the Commissioner's judgment good cause exists. 

Whenever under the terms of such an extension the payment of any amount or amounts 

of money to the Commissioner by the employer is postponed for a longer period than 10 

days from the time the same would be otherwise due and payable, the employer shall 

be charged with interest on such amount or amounts at a rate determined in 

accordance with §58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia, from the time such amount or 

amounts were originally due and payable to the date of payment under the terms of the 

extension.   
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23 VAC 10-140-210. Withheld amounts credited to individual taxpayer; withholding 

statement to be filed with return.  

The amount deducted and withheld under this chapter during any calendar year from 

the wages of any individual shall be allowed to the recipient of the income as a credit 

against the individual income tax imposed for the taxable year beginning in such 

calendar year. If more than one taxable year begins in a calendar year, such amount 

shall be allowed as a credit against the tax for the last taxable year so beginning. As a 

prerequisite to obtaining such credit the individual taxpayer must file with his income tax 

return one copy of the withholding statement provided for by §58.1-478 of the Code of 

Virginia.  
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23 VAC 10-140-220. Withheld taxes not deductible in computing taxable income.  

The tax deducted and withheld under this chapter shall not be allowed as a deduction 

either to the employer or to the recipient of the income in computing Virginia taxable 

income.  

23 VAC 10-140-250. Liability of employer for payment of tax required to be withheld.  

The employer shall be liable for the payment to the Commissioner of the amounts 

required to be deducted and withheld under this chapter, whether or not the employer 

collects such amounts from the employee. An employer who has withheld and paid 

such amounts to the Commissioner is relieved of liability to any person for the amount 

of any such payment, and any excess of withholding over liability for a taxable year can 

be refunded to an employee only upon the employee's filing an income tax return for 

such taxable year.  
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23 VAC 10-140-260. [Reserved]  
 
23 VAC 10-140-270. [Reserved]  


